Illinois Natural History Survey - University of Illinois

Creque Thomas, Sara
847-872-8677
screque@illinois.edu
Senior Aquatic Ecologist
Lake Michigan nearshore fish habitat invertebrate zooplankton

Allen, Julia
217-300-5651
juliema@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Researcher

Anders, Philip
217-265-0034
anders2@illinois.edu
Biological Informatician
Biodiversity Informatics, Data Management Systems

Anderson, Brian
217-333-6830
bda@illinois.edu
Director

Anthonysamy, Whitney
217-300-4030
wbannin2@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Bailey, Steven
847-217-5975
sdbailey@illinois.edu
Avian Biologist

Bara, Jeffrey
217-300-6367
jjbara@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Barnes, Jeannie
217-782-2954
jeannie.barnes@illinois.gov
Data Specialist

Beas, Benjamin
217-300-1925
beas@illinois.edu
Wetland Plant Ecologist

Beccue, Nathan
217 244-2149
nbeccue@illinois.edu
Natural Areas Research Specialist

Beckman, Marilyn
217-244-9411
mbeckman@illinois.edu
Research Assistant

Benda, Christopher
217-300-5955
cbenda2@illinois.edu
PLANT ECOLOGIST

Benson, Thomas
217-265-6242
tjbenson@illinois.edu
CTAP Coordinator
Wildlife Ecology and Conservation, Avian Ecology, Quantitative Ecology

Beveroth, Tara
217-265-7303
beveroth@illinois.edu

Avian monitoring, Avian Ecology, and Conservation

Bialeschki, Cathy
217-244-2120
cathyb@illinois.edu
Administrative Assistant

Blackshear, Millon
217-333-1186
blackshe@illinois.edu
Laboratory Specialist

Bohlen, Vickie
217-333-6870
vbohlen@illinois.edu
Financial Assistant

BouFajreldin, Lama
217-244-0284
lboufaj2@illinois.edu
Associate Research Scientist Human Dimensions

Buck, Steve
217-333-6458
sbuck@illinois.edu
Natural Areas Coordinator

Butler, Jason
217-244-2138
butlerjc@illinois.edu
Business Administrative Associate

Butler, Steven
217-728-4851
sebutlr1@illinois.edu
Visiting Research Biologist
Ecology of Lotic Systems, Fish Movements, Dam Effects, Invasive Species

Campbell, Linda
217-244-5121
lkcampbe@illinois.edu
Human Dimensions Assistant

Cao, Yong
217-244-6847
yongcao@illinois.edu
Stream Ecologist

Carroll-Cunningham, Connie
217-244-7741
carrollc@illinois.edu
Botanist
Botanical surveys, Plant ecology, IL Natural Areas Inventory, Bioswales

Casper, Andrew
309-543-6000
afcasper@illinois.edu
Director of Illinois River Biological Station
rivers, watersheds, ecohydrology, floodplains, food webs, community ecology

Charlebois, Patrice
847-242-6441
charlebo@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist, ANS Outreach Specialist

Chick, John
618-468-2850
chick@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist
Ecology of Large Rivers; Aquatic Ecology; Fish; Zooplankton; Invasive Species

Claussen, Julie
217-300-0998
juliec@illinois.edu
Fisheries Biologist

Cowan-Cranmer, Megan
618-468-2857
cranmer@illinois.edu
Field Biologist

Cummings, Kevin
217-333-1623
ksc@inhs.illinois.edu
Malacologist
Conservation, systematics and ecology of freshwater mollusks.

Czesny, Sergiusz
847-872-8677
czesny@illinois.edu
Associate Professional Scientist, Director, Lake Michigan Biological Station

Davis, Mark
217-333-6960
davis63@illinois.edu
Associate Research Scientist in Landscape Genetics
Conservation Genetics, Phylogenetic Systematics, Geometric Morphometrics

DeBoer, Jason
309-543-6000
jadeboer@illinois.edu
Large River Ecologist

DeWalt, R. Edward
217-649-7414
dewalt@illinois.edu
Aquatic Entomologist
Aquatic Insects, stonefly taxonomy, life history, ecology, distributions, phylogeography, conservation.
 

Deany, Adam
217-244-1884
adeany@illinois.edu
Accounting Associate

Diana, Matthew
217-728-4851
mattd@illinois.edu
Fisheries Aquatic Research Biologist

Dickerson, Patricia
217-244-9417
pdickrsn@illinois.edu
Education/Outreach Assistant

Dickinson, Amy
217-265-7558
dickinso@illinois.edu
Senior Research Specialist
Aquatic ecotoxicology, freshwater invertebrates, environmental contaminants

Dietrich, Christopher
217-244-7408
dietrich@inhs.illinois.edu
Systematic Entomologist
systematics, taxonomy, evolution, leafhoppers, treehoppers

Divine, Dwight
217-333-3559
divine@inhs.illinois.edu
Computer Services Administrator

Dmitriev, Dmitry
217-244-9578
dmitriev@inhs.illinois.edu
Interim Entomology Collections Manager
leafhoppers Auchenorrhyncha cybertaxonomy systematics morphology immatures

Douglas, Marlis
217-333-6896
mrd@illinois.edu
Director CaMEL
Conservation Genetics/Genomics, Molecular Ecology, Landscape Genetics

Douglass, Sarah
217-300-4018
sabales@illinois.edu
Mussel Field Biologist

Drake, Levi

ladrake2@illinois.edu
Graduate Student

Stream Ecology, GIS, Land Use, Environmental Policy, Restoration Ecology


Dreslik, Mike
217-300-0970
dreslik@illinois.edu
Herpetologist
Herpetology - Ecology and Conservation of Amphibians and Reptiles

Dub, Joshua
847-872-8677
dub2@illinois.edu
Asst. Research Scientist in Aquatic Ecology

Eades, David
217-244-9422
dceades@illinois.edu
Professional Scientist, Orthopterist
species file, taxonomy, Orthoptera, Catalogue of Life

Edison, Timothy
217-333-7760
t-edison@illinois.edu
Large River Ecologist
Coordinator of the Wabash and Ohio river Long-term Fish Population Monitoring.

Einfalt, Lisa
217-728-4851
leinfalt@illinois.edu
Lab Supervisor/Behavioral Ecologist

Ellis, James
217-244-5695
jellis@illinois.edu
Botanist

Engelhardt, Meg
217-300-0091
mjengel@illinois.edu
Wetland Plant Ecologist

Enstrom, David
217-419-1009
denstrom@illinois.edu
Ornithologist

Epifanio, John
217-244-5059
epifanio@inhs.illinois.edu
Molecular Ecologist

Estes, Kelly
217-333-1005
kcook8@illinois.edu
Agricultural Pest Survey Coordinator
invasive species, agricultural entomology, integrated pest management

Flood, James
217-244-9446
jrflood@illinois.edu
Research Programmer

Frank, Elizabeth
217-244-9447
eef@illinois.edu
Research Programmer

Fritts II, Mark
309-543-6000
mwfritts@illinois.edu
Large River Fisheries Ecologist

Fritts, Andrea
309-543-6000
afritts@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Geatz, George
217-244-6716
ggeatz@illinois.edu
Wetland Soil Scientist

Gittinger, Eric
618-468-2855
egitting@illinois.edu
Fisheries Technician, Aquatic Ecologist

Green, Michelle
217-333-8483
mlgreen@illinois.edu
Visiting Assistant Professor - Research

Mating systems, behavior and genetic population structure


Greer, Diane
217-244-2158
dagreer@illinois.edu
Geographic Information System Specialist

Hagy, Heath
309-543-3950
hhagy@illinois.edu
Assistant Research Program Leader in Waterfowl and Wetland Ecology and Field Station Director
waterfowl, wetlands, moist soil, waterbirds, wetland reserve program

Handel, William
217-244-2109
w-handel@illinois.edu
Plant Ecologist / Botanist

Hanson, Erica
217-333-6897
elhanson@illinois.edu
Human Resources Associate

Heads, Sam
217-244-9448
swheads@illinois.edu
Paleontologist

Paleontology, systematics and evolution of insects.


Heske, Ed
217-244-2173
eheske@illinois.edu
Mammalian Ecologist

Hickman, Chad
217-244-2105
chdhckmn@illinois.edu
GIS/Database Specialist

Hilbrich, Danielle
847-242-6442
hilbrich@illinois.edu
Aquatic Invasive Species Outreach Assistant
Aquatic Invasive Species

Hill, Steven
217-244-8452
srhill50@illinois.edu
Botanist, Plant Systematist
Systematics and phytogeography of the Malvaceae; IL T&E species; tropical plant taxonomy; Cycadaceae; North American, Central American, South American and Caribbean floristics (especially Dominica); Plant families

Hine, Christopher
309-543-3950
chine@illinois.edu
Wildlife Biologist

Hinz, Collin
309-543-6000
cjhinz@illinois.edu
Large River Ecologist

Hinz, Leon
217-785-8297
leon.hinz@illinois.gov
Stream Ecologist
Aquatic Ecology, Conservation Biology, Fisheries Management, Lotic Habitat.

Hitzroth, Gregory
(217)300-018
hitzroth@illinois.edu
Outreach Specialist, INHS/Illinois-Indiana Sea Grant

Hogberg, Nick
217-300-7940
nhogberg@illinois.edu
Large River Fisheries Ecologist

Hong, Jeffrey

hong66@illinois.edu
Assistant Computer Technician

Hoover, Jeffrey
217-244-2922
j-hoover@illinois.edu
Avian Ecologist
bird ecology, bird behavior, bird conservation, habitat restoration

Horath, Michelle
309-543-3950
mgeorgi@illinois.edu
Wildlife Biologist

Huang, Wei-Fong

wfhuang@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Researcher

Illyes, Robert
217-300-0993
illyes@illinois.edu
Scientific and system programmer, Fisheries metrics

Jarvis, Janet
217-265-6297
jljarvis@illinois.edu
Remote Sensing Specialist
GIS and Remote Sensing of natural resources

Jeffords, Michael
217-244-9417
jeffords@illinois.edu
Entomologist and Public Relations and Education Liaison

Johnson, Kevin
217-244-9267
kjohnson@inhs.illinois.edu
Ornithologist

Johnson, Ruth
217-333-6833
rejhnsn1@illinois.edu
Accountant I

Kampmeier, Gail

gkamp@illinois.edu
Senior Research Entomologist
biodiversity informatics, database design, plant virus epidemiology

Keene, Dennis
217-244-0873
dkeene@illinois.edu
Soil Scientist and Wetland Ecologist

Kenney, Ian
217-300-6786
ikenney@illinois.edu
Wetland Soil Specialist

Ketzner, David
217-244-8821
ketzner@illinois.edu
Botanist, Wetland Plant Ecologist

Key, Sue
217-244-4592
suekey@inhs.illinois.edu
Assistant Director for Administrative Services

Keys, James
217-244-1361
jkeys@illinois.edu
IT Support Specialist

Kim, Changhyun
217-333-1186
maraychk@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Ecological Immunology

Krasavin, Nina
217-244-5509
krasavin@illinois.edu
Molecular biology research technician/Laboratory manager

Kuhns, Andrew
217-265-6707
arkuhns@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist
Herpetology, Ecology, Conservation, Biology

Lambert, Timothy
217-244-8680
tlambert@illinois.edu
Visiting Aquatic Ecologist

Lampman, Richard
217-244-2689
richlamp@illinois.edu
Medical Entomologist; Insect Chemical Ecologist
vector ecology and behavior; West Nile virus

Larkin, Ronald
217-333-7513
r-larkin@illinois.edu
Wildlife Ecologist
flying animals radar conservation migration bird bat wind power

Laswell, Chad

laswell2@illinois.edu
Assistant Computer Technician

Levengood, Jeff
217-333-6767
jleven@inhs.illinois.edu
Wildlife Contaminant Specialist
ecotoxicology; wildlife toxicology; toxicants and other stressors

Levin, Geoffrey
217-244-7481
levin1@illinois.edu
Associate Director
Systematics of flowering plants, esp. Euphorbiaceae; floristics of North America

Levine, Eli
217-714-9118
levinee@illinois.edu
Research Entomologist

Lukey, James
630-206-9621
jlukey@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Maehr, Michael
217-244-9461
maehr@illinois.edu
Species File Software Specialist

Marcum, Paul
217-333-8459
marcum@illinois.edu
Wetland Plant Ecologist
wetlands, ecology, vascular plants, Carex, threatened and endangered species

Mateus-Pinilla, Nohra
217-333-6856
nohram@illinois.edu
Wildlife Veterinary Epidemiologist. Director: Veterinary Epidemiology Laboratory

Mayer, Christine
217-244-2354
camayer@illinois.edu
IDOT Data Coordinator, Database and Collection Manager

McIntyre, Susan
217-300-2178
sdmcinty@illinois.edu
Wetland Plant Ecologist
wetlands, community ecology, anthropogenic ecosystems, wildlife, PES

McNamara, Thomasine
300-4025
tmmcnama@illinois.edu
Web database developer

Merrill, Loren
217-244-8187
loren21@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Researcher

Ecological Physiology, Animal Behavior, Avian Biology/Ecology, Sexual Signaling


Merritt, Joseph
217-265-7301
jmerritt@illinois.edu
Mammalogist

Metzke, Brian
217-557-9251
Brian.Metzke@Illinois.gov
Stream Ecologist
Multi-spatial stream evaluation and GIS analysis

Miller-Ishmael, Mary
217-935-3030
mmilleri@illinois.edu
Creel Project Regional Supervisor

Miller, Andrew
217-244-0439
amiller@inhs.illinois.edu
Mycologist
DNA barcoding, fungal ecology, molecular phylogenetics, ascomycete systematics

Miller, Craig
217-244-0691
craigm@illinois.edu
Human Dimensions Biologist

Molano-Flores, Brenda
217-265-8167
molano1@illinois.edu
Plant Reproductive Ecologist

Montgomery, Allison
217-333-1186
avmontgo@illinois.edu
Laboratory Assistant

Mui, Jen
217-333-5986
jmu@illinois.edu
Education/Outreach Coordinator

Murphy, Michael
217-265-7793
mmurph@illinois.edu
Botanist

Muturi, Ephantus
217-244-3410
emuturi2@illinois.edu
Director of Medical Entomology

Nannini, Michael
618-245-6348
mnannini@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist

Nieset, Julie
217-300-2472
jenieset@illinois.edu
Wetland Plant Ecologist

Osborn, Joshua
(309) 543-3950
osbornjm@illinois.edu
Assistant Waterfowl Ecologist

Parker, Jerrod

jlparke2@illinois.edu
Visiting Aquatic Ecologist

Pendleton, Rich
309-543-6000
richpend@illinois.edu
Large River Ecologist

Peterman, William
217-244-8191
peterman@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Landscape ecology, landscape genetics, quantitative ecology, conservation biology, herpetology


Philipp, David
217-244-5055
philipp@illinois.edu
Conservation Geneticist

Phillippe, Loy
217-244-2181
rickp@inhs.illinois.edu
Plant Systematics, Herbarium Collection Mgr

Phillips, Chris
217-244-7077
caphilli@illinois.edu
Associate Research Program Leader

Post, Susan

spost@inhs.illinois.edu
Biological Control Specialist

Ratcliff, Eric
618-468-2854
eratclif@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist / Assistant Field Station Director

Redman, Rebecca
847-872-8677
rredman@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist
Lake Michigan, yellow perch, early life history, recruitment, fecundity, diets

Riecks-Soucek, David
217-265-5489
soucek@illinois.edu
Ecotoxicologist, Entomologist
Ecotoxicology of freshwater invertebrates

Roberts, Naomi
217-333-6880
nsrobert@illinois.edu
Human Resources Assistant

Robinson, Jason
217-300-3556
jrob@illinois.edu
Post Doctoral Research Associate
Aquatic insects, fishes, stream ecology, biogeography, evolution, niche modeling

Roswell, Charles
847-872-8677
croswell@illinois.edu
Asst. Research Scientist in Aquatic Ecology

Rothermel, Deanne
217-728-4851
dkrumwie@illinois.edu
Business Manager

Ruffatto, Danielle
217-300-9347
ruffatt1@illinois.edu
Education & Outreach Specialist

Rye, Timothy
217-345-0974
trye@illinois.edu
CTAP Botanist

Schelsky, Wendy
217-333-4712
schelsky@illinois.edu
Visiting Avian Ecologist
Avian Life History, Host-Parasite Interactions, Molecular Ecology

Schneider, Daniel
217-244-7681
ddws@illinois.edu
Ecologist

Shasteen, Diane
618-995-2411
Diane.Shasteen@illinois.gov
Mussel Field Biologist Coordinator
Mussel communities of Illinois streams

Sherwood, Joshua
217-244-2157
jsherwo2@illinois.edu
Fisheries Research Scientist
Fish, Freshwater mussels, streams

Sivicek, Valerie
217-265-7886
sivicek@illinois.edu
Field Biologist / Database Manager

Skultety, Dennis
217-244-5048
skultety@illinois.edu
GIS/ GPS Specialist

Soeken-Gittinger, Lori
618-468-2855
soeken@illinois.edu
Water Quality Specialist, Aquatic Ecologist

Solomon, Levi
309-543-6000
soloml@illinois.edu
Large River Fisheries Ecologist
Fisheries Component Specialist for the Long Term Resource Monitoring Program

Solter, Leellen
217-244-5047
lsolter@illinois.edu
Insect Pathologist
insect pathogens, microsporidia, host-pathogen interactions

Soto-Adames, Felipe
217-244-4552
fsoto@illinois.edu
Insect Systematist
Collembola Systematics and Evolution, Arthropod Muscle Protein Evolution

Spencer, Joseph
217-244-6851
spencer1@illinois.edu
Insect Behaviorist
Insect resistance, behavior, movement & migration, transgenic crops, corn

Spyreas, Greg
217 300-4023
spyreas@illinois.edu
Plant Ecologist-Botanist
Conservation; Restoration; Floristic Quality Assessment; Biodiversity; Ecology;

Stanhope, Kimberly
217-244-5113
stanhope@illinois.edu
Outreach Coordinator

Stein, Jeffrey
217-244-1516
jastein@illinois.edu
Senior Research Scientist
Bass recruitment & reproductive ecology; creel surveys; ecology of bonefish

Stephenson, Andrew
217-244-5121
alsteph@illinois.edu
Human Dimension Research Coordinator

Stewart, Clay
217-300-3733
chstewar@illinois.edu
Clerical Assistant-Mailroom

Stodola, Alison
217-300-0969
alprice@illinois.edu
Mussel Field Biologist

freshwater mollusk conservation

aquatic ecology

quantitative analyses of biological data


Stodola, Kirk

kstodola@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Szafoni, Diane
217-244-2160
szafoni@illinois.edu
GIS/IT Coordinator
Spatial database development and analysis

Taft, John
217-244-5046
taft@inhs.illinois.edu
Plant Ecologist/Botanist
vegetation ecology of terrestrial communities

Taylor, Christopher
217-244-2153
ctaylor@inhs.illinois.edu
Ichthyologist/Astacologist, Curator of Crustaceans

Taylor, Steven
217-244-1122
sjtaylor@illinois.edu
Macroinvertebrate Biologist
Biospeleology, Karst, Pseudoscorpiones, Amphipoda, Heteroptera

Thomas, Michael
300-7692
thomasmj@illinois.edu
Research Assistant

Thomas, Tina
217-244-4902
tthomas1@illinois.edu
Accountant I

Tiemann, Jeremy
217-244-4594
jtiemann@illinois.edu
Field Biologist
fishes, freshwater mussels, aquatic snails, endangered species, streams

Tipsword, Robert
217-244-7317
tipswor@illinois.edu
Facilities Manager

Tompkins, Joshua
217-728-4851
jtompkin@illinois.edu
Research Technician

Tsai, Jenwei
217-300-1930
ctsai@illinois.edu
Wetland Soil Specialist

Tweddale, Tari
217-265-0583
tweicher@illinois.edu
GIS Coordinator
GIS, Remote Sensing, Spatial database development, management, and analysis

Ulaszek, Eric
217-244-3957
eulaszek@illinois.edu
Botanist

VanMiddlesworth, Todd
309-543-6000
tdvanmid@illinois.edu
Emiquion Project Coordinator

Vandermyde, Jodi
217-782-4438
jodi.vandermyde@illinois.gov
Aquatic Ecologist

Stream ecology, aquatic macroinvertebrates, and GIS analysis


Vinsel, Rachel
217-300-5726
rvinsel2@illinois.edu
Georeferencing Technician

Voegtlin, David
217-244-2152
dvoegtli@illinois.edu
Insect Systematist

Wahl, Dave
217-728-4400
d-wahl@illinois.edu
Aquatic/Fishery Biologist, Field Station Director

Ward, Michael
217-244-4089
mpward@illinois.edu

Avian Ecology

Warwick, Charles
217-244-2115
cwarwick@inhs.illinois.edu
Publications Coordinator

Wetzel, Mark
217-244-2108
mjwetzel@illinois.edu
Aquatic Oligochaetologist / Macroinvertebrate Zoologist
taxonomy/systematics - aquatic & terrestrial annelid worms, other aquatic groups

Whelan, Christopher
312-355-0990
cwhelan@illinois.edu
Grassland Avian Ecologist

Wiesbrook, Scott
217-265-0368
swiesbro@illinois.edu
Assistant Project Leader for Soils

Wilm, Brian
217-244-2176
wilm@illinois.edu
Assistant Project Leader for Botany

Wingard, Margaret
217-265-5644
mwingard@illinois.edu
Financial Assistant

Wisher, John
217-728-4851
jwisher@illinois.edu
Visiting Research Technician

Wohlgemuth, Beth
217-244-4907
wohlgemu@illinois.edu
Librarian
Illinois Natural History Survey Librarian

Wudi, Diane
217-300-6229
dwudi@illinois.edu
Office Administrator Lake Michigan Biological Station

Wylie, Daniel
217-244-4494
dwylie@illinois.edu
Zoological Collections Manager

Yetter, Aaron
309-543-3950
ayetter@illinois.edu
Waterfowl Ecologist

Yoder, Matthew
217-244-9473
diapriid@gmail.com
Biological Informatician
Biodiversity Informatics, Ontologies, Hymenoptera, Diapriidae

Young, Angela
217-244-7793
younga@illinois.edu
Human Resources Associate

Zack, Sarah
847-242-6440
szack@illinois.edu
Aquatic Invasive Species Outreach Specialist
Aquatic Invasive Species Outreach & Education

Zahniser, James
217-300-4034
zahniser@illinois.edu
Post Doctoral Research Associate
taxonomy, Cicadellidae, leafhopper

Zaya, David
217-244-1946
dzaya1@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Zercher, Bradley
217-333-3870
zercher@illinois.edu
Wetland Field Biologist

Illinois Natural History Survey

1816 South Oak Street, MC 652
Champaign, IL 61820
217-333-6880
cms@inhs.illinois.edu

Terms of use. Email the Web Administrator with questions or comments.

© 2014 University of Illinois Board of Trustees. All rights reserved.
For permissions information, contact the Illinois Natural History Survey.

Staff Intranet
Login