Illinois Natural History Survey - University of Illinois

Allen, Julia
217-300-5651
juliema@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Researcher

Anders, Philip
217-265-0034
anders2@illinois.edu
Biological Informatician
Biodiversity Informatics, Data Management Systems

Bailey, Steven
847-217-5975
sdbailey@illinois.edu
Avian Biologist

Barnes, Jeannie
217-782-2954
jeannie.barnes@illinois.gov
Data Specialist

Beckman, Marilyn
217-244-9411
mbeckman@illinois.edu
Research Assistant

Benson, Thomas
217-265-6242
tjbenson@illinois.edu
CTAP Coordinator
Wildlife Ecology and Conservation, Avian Ecology, Quantitative Ecology

Beveroth, Tara
217-265-7303
beveroth@illinois.edu

Avian monitoring, Avian Ecology, and Conservation

Bialeschki, Cathy
217-244-2120
cathyb@illinois.edu
Administrative Aide

Blackshear, Millon
217-333-1186
blackshe@illinois.edu
Laboratory Specialist

Bohlen, Vickie
217-333-6870
vbohlen@illinois.edu
Financial Assistant

Buchalski, Catherine
(312) 814-6365
Catherine.Buchalski@illinois.gov
Coastal Ecologist

Buck, Steve
217-333-6458
sbuck@illinois.edu
Natural Areas Coordinator

Burgett, April
309-543-6000
aprilb@illinois.edu
Business Manager I

Butler, Steven
217-728-4851
sebutlr1@illinois.edu
Visiting Research Biologist
Ecology of Lotic Systems, Fish Movements, Dam Effects, Invasive Species

Campbell, Linda
217-244-5121
lkcampbe@illinois.edu
Human Dimensions Assistant

Cao, Yong
217-244-6847
yongcao@illinois.edu
Stream Ecologist

Carroll-Cunningham, Connie
217-244-7741
carrollc@illinois.edu
Botanist
Botanical surveys, Plant ecology, IL Natural Areas Inventory, Bioswales

Casper, Andrew
309-543-6000
afcasper@illinois.edu
Director of Illinois River Biological Station
rivers, watersheds, ecohydrology, floodplains, food webs, community ecology

Celis-Murillo, Antonio
217.979.7265
celismu1@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

I am an avian behavioral ecologist interested in the study of acoustic communication, mating systems, and migration. 


Charlebois, Patrice
847-242-6441
charlebo@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist and AIS Outreach Coordinator

Chiavacci, Scott
217-333-4299
chiavacc@illinois.edu
Associate Quantitative Ecologist

Chick, John
217-300-3844
chick@illinois.edu
Principal Aquatic Ecologist
Ecology of Large Rivers; Aquatic Ecology; Fish; Zooplankton; Invasive Species

Claussen, Julie
217-300-0998
juliec@illinois.edu
Fisheries Biologist

Collins, Scott
217-728-4851
collscot@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Colon-Ruiz, Janesse
217-265-8478
jcolonrz@illinois.edu
Asst. Wetland Plant Ecologist

Cowan-Cranmer, Megan
217-300-9969
cranmer@illinois.edu
Field Biologist

Creque-Thomas, Sara
847-872-8677
screque@illinois.edu
Senior Aquatic Ecologist
Lake Michigan nearshore fish habitat invertebrate zooplankton

Culver, Edward
217-300-0987
eculver2@illinois.edu
Large River Ecologist

Cummings, Kevin
217-333-1623
ksc@inhs.illinois.edu
Malacologist
Conservation, systematics and ecology of freshwater mollusks.

Czesny, Sergiusz
847-872-8677
czesny@illinois.edu
Associate Professional Scientist, Director, Lake Michigan Biological Station

Davis, Mark
217-333-6960
davis63@illinois.edu
Associate Research Scientist in Landscape Genetics
Conservation Genetics, Phylogenetic Systematics, Geometric Morphometrics, Strategic Habitat Conservation, Landscape Conservation Design

DeBoer, Jason
309-543-6000
jadeboer@illinois.edu
Large River Fisheries Ecologist

DeWalt, R. Edward
217-649-7414
dewalt@illinois.edu
Aquatic Entomologist
Aquatic Insects, stonefly taxonomy, life history, ecology, distributions, phylogeography, conservation.
 

Deany, Adam
217-244-1884
adeany@illinois.edu
Accounting Associate

Detmer, Thomas
217-728-4851
t-detmer@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Diana, Matthew
217-728-4851
mattd@illinois.edu
Fisheries Aquatic Research Biologist

Dickerson, Patricia
217-244-9417
pdickrsn@illinois.edu
Education/Outreach Assistant

Dickinson, Amy
217-265-7558
dickinso@illinois.edu
Senior Research Specialist
Aquatic ecotoxicology, freshwater invertebrates, environmental contaminants

Dietrich, Christopher
217-244-7408
dietrich@inhs.illinois.edu
Systematic Entomologist
systematics, taxonomy, evolution, leafhoppers, treehoppers

Divine, Dwight
217-333-3559
divine@inhs.illinois.edu
Computer Services Administrator

Dmitriev, Dmitry
217-244-9578
proceps@illinois.edu
Research Scientist
leafhoppers Auchenorrhyncha cybertaxonomy systematics morphology immatures

Douglass, Sarah
217-300-4018
sabales@illinois.edu
Mussel Field Biologist

Dreslik, Mike
217-300-0970
dreslik@illinois.edu
Herpetologist
Herpetology - Ecology and Conservation of Amphibians and Reptiles

Dub, Joshua
847-872-8677
dub2@illinois.edu
Asst. Research Scientist in Aquatic Ecology

Eades, David
217-244-9422
dceades@illinois.edu
Professional Scientist, Orthopterist
species file, taxonomy, Orthoptera, Catalogue of Life

Einfalt, Lisa
217-728-4851
leinfalt@illinois.edu
Lab Supervisor/Behavioral Ecologist

Ellis, James
217-244-5695
jellis@illinois.edu
Botanist

Epifanio, John
217-244-5059
epifanio@illinois.edu
Fish Conservation & Genetics

Estes, Kelly
217-333-1005
kcook8@illinois.edu
Agricultural Pest Survey Coordinator
invasive species, agricultural entomology, integrated pest management

Flood, James
217-244-9446
jrflood@illinois.edu
Research Programmer

Geatz, George
217-244-6716
ggeatz@illinois.edu
Wetland Soil Scientist

Gittinger, Eric
217-300-3923
egitting@illinois.edu
Fisheries Technician, Aquatic Ecologist

Green, Michelle
217-333-8483
mlgreen@illinois.edu
Visiting Assistant Professor - Research

Mating systems, behavior and genetic population structure


Greer, Diane
217-244-2158
dagreer@illinois.edu
Geographic Information System Specialist

Grinter, Chris
217-244-6984
cgrinter@illinois.edu
Collection Manager of Insects

Hagy, Heath
217-300-5620
hhagy@illinois.edu
Assistant Research Program Leader in Waterfowl and Wetland Ecology and Field Station Director
waterfowl, wetlands, moist soil, waterbirds, wetland reserve program

Hamer, Vincent
217-782-9129
vhamer@illinois.edu
Natural Resources Surveys Coordinator

Handel, William
217-244-2109
w-handel@illinois.edu
Plant Ecologist / Botanist

Hanson, Erica
217-333-6897
elhanson@illinois.edu
Human Resources Associate

Human Resources and the Law


Harris, Wendy
217-333-4186
wgharris@illinois.edu
Assistant Director for Administrative Services

Heads, Sam
217-244-9448
swheads@illinois.edu
Paleontologist

Paleontology, systematics and evolution of insects.


Henning, Bridget
217-558-1226
hennin@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Heske, Ed
217-244-2173
eheske@illinois.edu
Mammalian Ecologist

Hess, Mitchell
217-300-4592
mthess@illinois.edu
Assistant Agricultural Habitat Program Manager

Hickman, Chad
217-244-2105
chdhckmn@illinois.edu
GIS/Database Specialist

Hilbrich, Danielle
847-242-6442; 217-300-4053
hilbrich@illinois.edu
Aquatic Invasive Species Outreach Educator
Aquatic Invasive Species

Hill, Steven
217-244-8452
srhill50@illinois.edu
Botanist, Plant Systematist
Systematics and phytogeography of the Malvaceae; IL T&E species; tropical plant taxonomy; Cycadaceae; North American, Central American, South American and Caribbean floristics (especially Dominica); Plant families

Hine, Christopher
217-300-4042
chine@illinois.edu
Wildlife Biologist

Hinz, Leon
217-785-8297
leon.hinz@illinois.gov
Stream Ecologist
Aquatic Ecology, Conservation Biology, Fisheries Management, Lotic Habitat.

Hitzroth, Gregory
(217)300-0182
hitzroth@illinois.edu
Outreach Specialist, INHS/Illinois-Indiana Sea Grant

Hoover, Jeffrey
217-244-2922
j-hoover@illinois.edu
Avian Ecologist
bird ecology, bird behavior, bird conservation, habitat restoration

Illyes, Robert
217-300-0993
illyes@illinois.edu
Scientific and system programmer, Fisheries metrics

Jarvis, Janet
217-265-6297
jljarvis@illinois.edu
Remote Sensing Specialist
GIS and Remote Sensing of natural resources

Johnson, Kevin
217-244-9267
kjohnson@inhs.illinois.edu
Ornithologist

Johnson, Ruth
217-333-6833
rejhnsn1@illinois.edu
Accountant I

Karsk, Jocelyn
217-300-9956
jkarsk@illinois.edu
Assistant Mammalogist

Keene, Dennis
217-244-0873
dkeene@illinois.edu
Soil Scientist and Wetland Ecologist

Kellerhals, Doyn
217-244-9929
dkell1@illinois.edu
Asst Large River Ecologist

Kenney, Ian
217-300-6786
ikenney@illinois.edu
Wetland Soil Specialist

Ketzner, David
217-244-8821
ketzner@illinois.edu
Botanist, Wetland Plant Ecologist

Keys, James
217-244-1361
jkeys@illinois.edu
IT Support Specialist

Kim, Changhyun
217-333-1186
maraychk@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Ecological Immunology

King, Sarah
217-300-3774
shuck@illinois.edu
Associate Fisheries Biologist

Kuhn, Alexander
217-244-8479
akuhn@illinois.edu
Visiting Assistant Data Curator

Kuhns, Andrew
217-265-6707
arkuhns@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist
Herpetology, Ecology, Conservation, Biology

Levengood, Jeff
217-333-6767
levengoo@illinois.edu
Fish and Wildlife Toxicologist
ecotoxicology; wildlife toxicology; toxicants in concert with other stressors; ecosystem health

Levine, Eli
217-714-9118
levinee@illinois.edu
Research Entomologist

Lowers, Mindy
217-300-3588
mlowers@illinois.edu
Office Administrator

Lubinski, Benjamin
217-300-3955
blubinsk@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist/LTRMP Technician

Maehr, Michael
217-244-9461
maehr@illinois.edu
Biodiversity Data Specialist

Marcum, Paul
217-333-8459
marcum@illinois.edu
Assistant Project Leader for Botany
wetlands, ecology, vascular plants, Carex, threatened and endangered species

Mateus-Pinilla, Nohra
217-333-6856
nohram@illinois.edu
Veterinary Epidemiologist. Director: Veterinary Epidemiology Laboratory

Maxson, Kristopher
(217) 300-9931
kmaxs87@illinois.edu
Assistant Large Rivers Fisheries Ecologist

McIntyre, Susan
217-300-2178
sdmcinty@illinois.edu
Wetland Plant Ecologist
wetlands, community ecology, anthropogenic ecosystems, wildlife, PES

McNamara, Thomasine
300-4025
tmmcnama@illinois.edu
Web database developer

Mengelkoch, Jean
217-265-7885
jmengelk@illinois.edu
Associate Mammalogist

Merrill, Loren
217-244-8187
loren21@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Researcher

Ecological Physiology, Animal Behavior, Avian Biology/Ecology, Sexual Signaling


Merritt, Joseph
217-265-7301
jmerritt@illinois.edu
Mammalogist

Metzke, Brian
217-557-9251
Brian.Metzke@Illinois.gov
Stream Ecologist
Multi-spatial stream evaluation and GIS analysis

Miller-Ishmael, Mary
217-935-3030
mmilleri@illinois.edu
Creel Project Regional Supervisor

Miller, Andrew
217-244-0439
amiller7@illinois.edu
Mycologist
DNA barcoding, fungal ecology, molecular phylogenetics, ascomycete systematics

Miller, Craig
217-244-0691
craigm@illinois.edu
Human Dimensions Biologist

Minnaert-Grote, Jamie
217-244-7332
minnaert@illinois.edu
HERBARIUM COLLECTION MGR

Molano-Flores, Brenda
217-265-8167
molano1@illinois.edu
Plant Ecologist

Mozzherin, Dmitriy (Dima)
217-265-6531
mozzheri@illinois.edu
Biodiversity Informatician

Mui, Jen
217-333-5986
jmu@illinois.edu
Education/Outreach Coordinator

Murphy, Michael
217-265-7793
mmurph@illinois.edu
Botanist

Nannini, Michael
618-245-6348
mnannini@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist

Nelson, Danielle
312-814-8566
dmn73@illinois.edu
Associate Ecologist

Niemiller, Matthew

mniemill@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Nieset, Julie
217-300-2472
jenieset@illinois.edu
Wetland Plant Ecologist

Olnas, Andy
217-244-0918
aolnas2@illinois.edu
Wetland Plant Ecologist

Osborn, Joshua
217-244-7675
osbornjm@illinois.edu
Associate Waterfowl Ecologist

Parker, Christine
518-637-7915
cmroy2@illinois.edu
Graduate research assistant

Parker, Jerrod
(217) 300-0997
jlparke2@illinois.edu
Large River Ecologist

Pearse, Ian

ipearse@illinois.edu
Research Affiliate

Pendleton, Rich
217-300-5685
richpend@illinois.edu
Large River Ecologist

Philipp, David
217-244-5055
philipp@illinois.edu
Conservation Geneticist

Phillippe, Loy
217-244-2181
rickp@inhs.illinois.edu
Plant Systematics, Herbarium Collection Mgr

Phillips, Chris
217-244-7077
caphilli@illinois.edu
Associate Research Program Leader

Post, Susan

spost@inhs.illinois.edu
Biological Control Specialist

Ratcliff, Eric
217-300-9967
eratclif@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist / Assistant Field Station Director

Redman, Rebecca
847-872-8677
rredman@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist
Lake Michigan, yellow perch, early life history, recruitment, fecundity, diets

Rimkus, Jenny
217-300-3893
jrimkus@illinois.edu
Office Administrator

Robinson, Jason
217-300-3556
jrob@illinois.edu
IDOT Aquatic Entomologist
Aquatic insects, fishes, stream ecology, biogeography, evolution, niche modeling

Roskov, Yury
217-300-0595
yroskov@illinois.edu
Catalogue of Life Executive Editor

Taxonomic databases.

Digital imaging and databasing of herbarium specimens.

Plant taxonomy and nomenclature.


Roswell, Charles
847-872-8677
croswell@illinois.edu
Asst. Research Scientist in Aquatic Ecology

Rothermel, Deanne
217-728-4851
dkrumwie@illinois.edu
Business Manager

Ruffatto, Danielle
217-300-9347
ruffatt1@illinois.edu
Education & Outreach Specialist

biologist • graphic designer • illustrator


Rye, Timothy
217-345-0974
trye@illinois.edu
CTAP Botanist

Schelsky, Wendy
217-333-4712
schelsky@illinois.edu
Biological Surveys Coordinator
Avian Life History, Host-Parasite Interactions, Molecular Ecology

Schneider, Daniel
217-244-7681
ddws@illinois.edu
Ecologist

Sherwood, Joshua
217-244-2157
jsherwo2@illinois.edu
Associate Ichthyologist
Fish, Freshwater mussels, streams

Sivicek, Valerie
217-265-7886
sivicek@illinois.edu
Field Biologist

plant ecology


Skultety, Dennis
217-244-5048
skultety@illinois.edu
GIS/ GPS Specialist

Soeken-Gittinger, Lori
217-300-1036
soeken@illinois.edu
Water Quality Specialist, Aquatic Ecologist

Solomon, Levi
309-543-6000
soloml@illinois.edu
Field Research Coordinator

Solter, Leellen
217-244-5047
lsolter@illinois.edu
Interim Director/Insect Pathologist
insect pathogens, microsporidia, host-pathogen interactions

Soucek, David
217-265-5489
soucek@illinois.edu
Ecotoxicologist, Entomologist
Ecotoxicology of freshwater invertebrates

Spencer, Joseph
217-244-6851
spencer1@illinois.edu
Insect Behaviorist
Insect resistance, behavior, movement & migration, transgenic crops, corn

Spyreas, Greg
217 300-4023
spyreas@illinois.edu
Plant Ecologist-Botanist
Conservation; Restoration; Floristic Quality Assessment; Biodiversity; Ecology;

Stanhope, Kimberly
217-244-5113
stanhope@illinois.edu
Outreach Coordinator

Stein, Jeffrey
217-244-1516
jastein@illinois.edu
Senior Research Scientist
Bass recruitment & reproductive ecology; creel surveys; ecology of bonefish

Stewart, Clay
217-300-3733
chstewar@illinois.edu
Clerical Assistant-Mailroom

Stodola, Alison
217-300-0969
alprice@illinois.edu
Mussel Field Biologist

freshwater mollusk conservation

aquatic ecology

quantitative analyses of biological data


Stodola, Kirk
217-300-4003
kstodola@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Szafoni, Diane
217-244-2160
szafoni@illinois.edu
GIS/IT Coordinator
Spatial database development and analysis

Taft, John
217-244-5046
taft@inhs.illinois.edu
Plant Ecologist/Botanist
vegetation ecology of terrestrial communities

Taylor, Christopher
217-244-2153
ctaylor@inhs.illinois.edu
Ichthyologist/Astacologist, Curator of Crustaceans

Taylor, Steven
217-714-2871
sjtaylor@illinois.edu
Conservation Biologist
Biospeleology, Karst, Pseudoscorpiones, Amphipoda, Heteroptera

Thomas, Michael
300-7692
thomasmj@illinois.edu
Research Assistant

Thomas, Tina
217-244-4902
tthomas1@illinois.edu
Accountant I

Tiemann, Jeremy
217-244-4594
jtiemann@illinois.edu
Field Biologist
fishes, freshwater mussels, aquatic snails, endangered species, streams

Tipsword, Robert
217-244-7317
tipswor@illinois.edu
Facilities Manager

Tompkins, Joshua
217-728-4851
jtompkin@illinois.edu
Assistant Fisheries Ecologist

Tsai, Jenwei
217-300-1930
ctsai@illinois.edu
Wetland Soil Specialist

Turek, Anne
312-814-2751
aturek@illinois.edu
Associate Ecologist

Tweddale, Tari
217-265-0583
tweicher@illinois.edu
GIS Coordinator
GIS, Remote Sensing, Spatial database development, management, and analysis

Ulaszek, Eric
217-244-3957
eulaszek@illinois.edu
Botanist

VanMiddlesworth, Todd
309-543-6000
tdvanmid@illinois.edu
Emiquion Project Coordinator

Vandermyde, Jodi
217-782-4438
jodi.vandermyde@illinois.gov
Aquatic Ecologist

Stream ecology, aquatic macroinvertebrates, and GIS analysis


Vinsel, Rachel
217-300-5726
rvinsel2@illinois.edu
Assistant Data Curator

Wahl, Dave
217-728-4400
d-wahl@illinois.edu
Aquatic/Fishery Biologist, Field Station Director

Ward, Michael
217-244-4089
mpward@illinois.edu

Avian Ecology

Warner, Jonathan
217-300-3886
jkwarner@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Warwick, Charles
217-244-2115
cwarwick@inhs.illinois.edu
Publications Coordinator

Wetzel, Mark
217-244-2108
mjwetzel@illinois.edu
Aquatic Oligochaetologist / Macroinvertebrate Zoologist
taxonomy/systematics - aquatic & terrestrial annelid worms, other aquatic groups

Whelan, Christopher
312-355-0990
cwhelan@illinois.edu
Avian Ecologist

Avian ecology, ecosystem services, evolutionary ecology, evolutionary game theory, global climate change, physiological ecology, wildlife ecology


Whitten, Andrya
309-543-6000
awhitten@illinois.edu
Assistant Large River Fisheries Ecologist

Wiesbrook, Scott
217-265-0368
swiesbro@illinois.edu
Assistant Project Leader for Soils

Wilm, Brian
217-244-2176
wilm@illinois.edu
Assistant Project Leader for Botany

Wingard, Margaret
217-265-5644
mwingard@illinois.edu
Financial Assistant

Wylie, Daniel
217-244-4494
dwylie@illinois.edu
Zoological Collections Manager

Yetter, Aaron
217-300-4038
ayetter@illinois.edu
Waterfowl Ecologist

Yoder, Matthew
217-244-9473
diapriid@gmail.com
Biological Informatician
Biodiversity Informatics, Ontologies, Hymenoptera, Diapriidae

Young, Angela
217-244-7793
younga@illinois.edu
Human Resources Associate

Zaya, David
217-244-1946
dzaya1@illinois.edu
Plant Ecologist

Zercher, Bradley
217-333-3870
zercher@illinois.edu
Wetland Field Biologist

Illinois Natural History Survey

1816 South Oak Street, MC 652
Champaign, IL 61820
217-333-6880
cms@inhs.illinois.edu

Terms of use. Email the Web Administrator with questions or comments.

© 2016 University of Illinois Board of Trustees. All rights reserved.
For permissions information, contact the Illinois Natural History Survey.

Staff Intranet
Login