Illinois Natural History Survey - University of Illinois

Allen, Max
217-300-7674
maxallen@illinois.edu
Wildlife Ecologist

Anders, Philip
217-265-0034
anders2@illinois.edu
Biological Informatician
Biodiversity Informatics, Data Management Systems

Bailey, Steven
847-217-5975
sdbailey@illinois.edu
Avian Biologist

Baker , Sarah
217-300-4019
sjbaker2@illinois.edu
Post-Doctoral Research Associate

Herpetology, reptile diseases  


Barnes, Jeannie
217-782-2954
jeannie.barnes@illinois.gov
Data Specialist

Beckman, Marilyn
217-244-9411
mbeckman@illinois.edu
Research Assistant

Benson, Thomas
217-265-6242
tjbenson@illinois.edu
Senior Wildlife Ecologist, CTAP Coordinator
Wildlife Ecology and Conservation, Avian Ecology, Quantitative Ecology

Beveroth, Tara
217-265-7303
beveroth@illinois.edu

Avian Monitoring, Avian Ecology, and Conservation Biology

Bialeschki, Cathy
217-244-2120
cathyb@illinois.edu
Administrative Aide

Black, Kristen
(217) 300-5881
kblack17@illinois.edu
Hunter and Trapper Recruitment Specialist

 


Blackshear, Millon
217-333-1186
blackshe@illinois.edu
Laboratory Specialist

Bohlen, Vickie
217-333-6870
vbohlen@illinois.edu
PRI Financial Assistant

Buchalski, Catherine
(312) 814-6365
Catherine.Buchalski@illinois.gov
Coastal Ecologist

Burgett, April
309-543-6000
aprilb@illinois.edu
Business Manager I

Butler, Steven
217-728-4851
sebutlr1@illinois.edu
Visiting Research Biologist
Ecology of Lotic Systems, Fish Movements, Dam Effects, Invasive Species

Campbell, Linda
217-244-5121
lkcampbe@illinois.edu
Human Dimensions Assistant

Cao, Yong
217-244-6847
yongcao@illinois.edu
Stream Ecologist

Carroll-Cunningham, Connie
217-244-7741
carrollc@illinois.edu
Botanist
Botanical surveys, Plant ecology, IL Natural Areas Inventory, Bioswales

Charlebois, Patrice
847-242-6441
charlebo@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist and AIS Outreach Coordinator

Chick, John
217-300-3844
chick@illinois.edu
Principal Scientist
Ecology of Large Rivers; Aquatic Ecology; Fish; Zooplankton; Invasive Species

Claussen, Julie
217-300-0998
juliec@illinois.edu
Fisheries Biologist

Collins, Scott
217-728-4851
collscot@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Colon-Ruiz, Janesse
217-265-8478
jcolonrz@illinois.edu
Asst. Wetland Plant Ecologist

Cowan-Cranmer, Megan
217-300-9969
cranmer@illinois.edu
Field Biologist

Cummings, Kevin
217-333-1623
ksc@inhs.illinois.edu
Malacologist
Conservation, systematics and ecology of freshwater mollusks.

Czesny, Sergiusz
847-872-8677
czesny@illinois.edu
Principle Aquatic Ecologist, Field Station Director, Lake Michigan Biological Station

Davis, Mark
217-333-6960
davis63@illinois.edu
Conservation Biologist
Environmental DNA, Genomics, Conservation Genetics, Phylogenetic Systematics, Geometric Morphometrics, Strategic Habitat Conservation, Landscape Conservation Design

DeBoer, Jason
309-543-6000
jadeboer@illinois.edu
Large River Fisheries Ecologist

DeWalt, R. Edward
217-649-7414
dewalt@illinois.edu
Aquatic Entomologist
Aquatic Insects, stonefly taxonomy, life history, ecology, distributions, phylogeography, conservation.
 

Deany, Adam
217-244-1884
adeany@illinois.edu
Finance Management Specialist

Detmer, Thomas
217-728-4851
t-detmer@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Dickerson, Patricia
217-244-9417
pdickrsn@illinois.edu
Education/Outreach Assistant

Dickinson, Amy
217-265-7558
dickinso@illinois.edu
Senior Research Specialist
Aquatic ecotoxicology, freshwater invertebrates, environmental contaminants

Dietrich, Christopher
217-244-7408
dietrich@inhs.illinois.edu
Systematic Entomologist
systematics, taxonomy, evolution, leafhoppers, treehoppers

Divine, Dwight
217-333-3559
divine@inhs.illinois.edu
Computer Services Administrator

Dmitriev, Dmitry
217-244-9578
proceps@illinois.edu
Research Scientist
leafhoppers Auchenorrhyncha cybertaxonomy systematics morphology immatures

Douglass, Sarah
217-300-4018
sabales@illinois.edu
Mussel Field Biologist

Dreslik, Mike
217-300-0970
dreslik@illinois.edu
Herpetologist
Herpetology - Ecology and Conservation of Amphibians and Reptiles

Eades, David
217-244-9422
dceades@illinois.edu
Professional Scientist, Orthopterist
species file, taxonomy, Orthoptera, Catalogue of Life

Einfalt, Lisa
217-728-4851
leinfalt@illinois.edu
Lab Supervisor/Behavioral Ecologist

Ellis, James
217-244-5695
jellis@illinois.edu
Natural Areas Cordinator

Epifanio, John
217-244-5059
epifanio@illinois.edu
Fish Conservation & Genetics

Estes, Kelly
217-333-1005
kcook8@illinois.edu
Agricultural Pest Survey Coordinator
invasive species, agricultural entomology, integrated pest management

Flood, James
217-244-9446
jrflood@illinois.edu
Research Programmer

Geatz, George
217-244-6716
ggeatz@illinois.edu
Wetland Soil Scientist

Gittinger, Eric
217-300-3923
egitting@illinois.edu
Fisheries Technician, Aquatic Ecologist

Green, Michelle
217-333-8483
mlgreen@illinois.edu
Visiting Assistant Professor - Research

Mating systems, behavior and genetic population structure


Hamer, Vincent
217-782-9129
vhamer@illinois.edu
Natural Resources Surveys Coordinator

Handel, William
217-244-2109
w-handel@illinois.edu
Plant Ecologist / Botanist

Heads, Sam
217-244-9448
swheads@illinois.edu
Paleontologist

Paleontology, systematics and evolution of insects.


Henning, Bridget
217-558-1226
hennin@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Hess, Mitchell
217-300-4592
mthess@illinois.edu
Assistant Agricultural Habitat Program Manager

Hickman, Chad
217-244-2105
chdhckmn@illinois.edu
GIS/Database Specialist

Hine, Christopher
217-300-4042
chine@illinois.edu
Wildlife Biologist

Hitzroth, Gregory
(217)300-0182
hitzroth@illinois.edu
Outreach Specialist, INHS/Illinois-Indiana Sea Grant

Hoover, Jeffrey
217-244-2922
j-hoover@illinois.edu
Avian Ecologist
bird ecology, bird behavior, bird conservation, habitat restoration

Hostert, Lauren
217-300-2015
lhostert@illinois.edu
Assistant Scientist, Stream Ecologist

Hudson, Nathan
217-300-6037
nhudson@illinois.edu
Natural Areas Research Specialist

Jarvis, Janet
217-265-6297
jljarvis@illinois.edu
Remote Sensing Specialist
GIS and Remote Sensing of natural resources

Johnson, Kevin
217-244-9267
kjohnson@inhs.illinois.edu
Ornithologist

Johnson, Ruth
217-333-6833
rejhnsn1@illinois.edu
Accountant I

Karsk, Jocelyn
217-300-9956
jkarsk@illinois.edu
Assistant Mammalogist

Keene, Dennis
217-244-0873
dkeene@illinois.edu
Soil Scientist and Wetland Ecologist

Kellerhals, Doyn
217-244-9929
dkell1@illinois.edu
Asst Large River Ecologist

Kenney, Ian
217-300-6786
ikenney@illinois.edu
Wetland Soil Specialist

Ketzner, David
217-244-8821
ketzner@illinois.edu
Botanist, Wetland Plant Ecologist

Keys, James
217-244-1361
jkeys@illinois.edu
IT Support Specialist

Kim, Changhyun
217-300-4006
maraychk@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Ecological Immunology

King, Sarah
217-300-3774
shuck@illinois.edu
Associate Fisheries Biologist

Kohler, Michelle
217-417-3680
mmkohler@illinois.edu
Assistant to the Collection Manager

Kuhns, Andrew
217-265-6707
arkuhns@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist
Herpetology, Ecology, Conservation, Biology

Lowers, Mindy
217-300-3588
mlowers@illinois.edu
Office Administrator

Lubinski, Benjamin
217-300-3955
blubinsk@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist/LTRMP Technician

Maehr, Michael
217-244-9461
maehr@illinois.edu
Biodiversity Data Specialist

Marcum, Paul
217-333-8459
marcum@illinois.edu
Assistant Project Leader for Botany
wetlands, ecology, vascular plants, Carex, threatened and endangered species

Mateus-Pinilla, Nohra
217-333-6856
nohram@illinois.edu
Veterinary Epidemiologist. Director: Veterinary Epidemiology Laboratory

Maxson, Kristopher
(217) 300-9931
kmaxs87@illinois.edu
Assistant Large Rivers Fisheries Ecologist

McElrath, Thomas
217-300-5938
tcm@illinois.edu
Insect Collection Manager

McIntyre, Susan
217-300-2178
sdmcinty@illinois.edu
Wetland Plant Ecologist
wetlands, community ecology, anthropogenic ecosystems, wildlife, PES

McNamara, Thomasine
300-4025
tmmcnama@illinois.edu
Web database developer

Mengelkoch, Jean
217-265-7885
jmengelk@illinois.edu
Associate Mammalogist

Metzke, Brian
217-557-9251
Brian.Metzke@Illinois.gov
Stream Ecologist
Multi-spatial stream evaluation and GIS analysis

Miller, Andrew
217-244-0439
amiller7@illinois.edu
Mycologist
DNA barcoding, fungal ecology, molecular phylogenetics, ascomycete systematics

Miller, Craig
217-244-0691
craigm@illinois.edu
Human Dimensions Scientist

Human Dimensions of Wildlife and Natural Resources

Natural Resources Policy and Management


Minnaert-Grote, Jamie
217-244-7332
minnaert@illinois.edu
HERBARIUM COLLECTION MGR

Molano-Flores, Brenda
217-265-8167
molano1@illinois.edu
Plant Ecologist

Mozzherin, Dmitriy (Dima)
217-265-6531
mozzheri@illinois.edu
Biodiversity Informatician

Mui, Jen
217-333-5986
jmu@illinois.edu


Murphy, Michael
217-265-7793
mmurph@illinois.edu
Botanist

Nannini, Michael
618-245-6348
mnannini@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist

Nelson, Danielle
312-814-8566
dmn73@illinois.edu
Associate Ecologist

Nieset, Julie
217-300-2472
jenieset@illinois.edu
Wetland Plant Ecologist

Olnas, Andy
217-244-0918
aolnas2@illinois.edu
Botanist/Wetland Plant Ecologist

Osborn, Joshua
217-244-7675
osbornjm@illinois.edu
Associate Waterfowl Ecologist

Parker, Christine
518-637-7915
cmroy2@illinois.edu
Graduate research assistant

Parker, Jerrod
(217) 300-0997
jlparke2@illinois.edu
Large River Ecologist

I am fascinated by the dynamic nature of flowing systems and interested in all aspects of lotic ecology. My research has primarily focused on methods to characterize fish assemblage structure and relating changes in these characterizations to the chemical and physical environment. I have a broad range of field experience in Midwestern lotic systems, from wadeable first order trout streams to large navigable rivers, but I’ve developed a particular interest in difficult to survey small rivers and backwater lakes. Ultimately, I hope my research adds to our collective understanding of lotic ecosystems, and allows for better informed decisions regarding the maintenance or enhancement of these resources.

 


Parkos, Joseph
217-728-4851
parkos@illinois.edu
Assistant Field Station Director

Peterson, Scot
847-872-8677
scotpete@illinois.edu
Assistant Aquatic Ecologist

Lake Michigan nearshore ecology, community ecology, food web dynamics


Philipp, David
217-244-5055
philipp@illinois.edu
Conservation Geneticist

Phillips, Chris
217-244-7077
caphilli@illinois.edu
Associate Research Program Leader

Ratcliff, Eric
217-300-9967
eratclif@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist / Assistant Field Station Director

Redman, Rebecca
847-872-8677
rredman@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist
Lake Michigan, yellow perch, early life history, recruitment, fecundity, diets

Rimkus, Jenny
217-300-3893
jrimkus@illinois.edu
Office Administrator

Robinson, Jason
217-300-3556
jrob@illinois.edu
IDOT Aquatic Entomologist
Aquatic insects, fishes, stream ecology, biogeography, evolution, niche modeling

Roskov, Yury
217-300-0595
yroskov@illinois.edu
Catalogue of Life Executive Editor

Taxonomic databases.

Digital imaging and databasing of herbarium specimens.

Plant taxonomy and nomenclature.


Ross, Jason
217-300-3525
rossjp15@illinois.edu
Associate Herpetologist

Roswell, Charles
847-872-8677
croswell@illinois.edu
Asst. Research Scientist in Aquatic Ecology

Rothermel, Deanne
217-728-4851
dkrumwie@illinois.edu
Business Manager

Ruffatto, Danielle
217-300-9347
ruffatt1@illinois.edu
Media Communications Specialist

graphic designer • illustrator • writer


Rye, Timothy
217-345-0974
trye@illinois.edu
CTAP Botanist

Schelsky, Wendy
217-333-4712
schelsky@illinois.edu
Biological Surveys Coordinator
Avian Life History, Host-Parasite Interactions, Molecular Ecology

Sherwood, Joshua
217-244-2157
jsherwo2@illinois.edu
Associate Ichthyologist
Fish, Freshwater mussels, streams

Sivicek, Valerie
217-265-7886
sivicek@illinois.edu
Field Biologist

plant ecology


Skultety, Dennis
217-244-5048
skultety@illinois.edu
GIS/ GPS Specialist

Soeken-Gittinger, Lori
217-300-1036
soeken@illinois.edu
Water Quality Specialist, Aquatic Ecologist

Solomon, Levi
309-543-6000
soloml@illinois.edu
Field Research Coordinator

Soucek, David
217-265-5489
soucek@illinois.edu
Ecotoxicologist, Entomologist
Ecotoxicology of freshwater invertebrates

Spencer, Joseph
217-244-6851
spencer1@illinois.edu
Insect Behaviorist
Insect resistance, behavior, movement & migration, transgenic crops, corn

Spyreas, Greg
217 300-4023
spyreas@illinois.edu
Research Scientist: Plant Ecology & Botany

Stanhope, Kimberly
217-300-4024
stanhope@illinois.edu
Outreach Coordinator

Stein, Jeffrey
217-244-1516
jastein@illinois.edu
Senior Research Scientist
ecology of recreational fisheries; recruitment & reproductive ecology; age and growth of fishes; spatial ecology; fisheries data management

Stephens, Dan
217-300-0875
danieljs@illinois.edu
Hunter and Trapper Recruitment Specialist

Stewart, Clay
217-300-3733
chstewar@illinois.edu
Clerical Assistant-Mailroom

Stites, Andrew
217-265-6318
stites1@illinois.edu
Associate Ichthyologist

Stodola, Alison
217-300-0969
alprice@illinois.edu
Mussel Field Biologist

freshwater mollusk conservation

aquatic ecology

quantitative analyses of biological data


Stodola, Kirk
217-300-4003
kstodola@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Stone, Chris
217-300-5974
cstone@illinois.edu
Medical Entomologist

Behavioral ecology of mosquitoes; environment-pathogen-vector interactions; integrated vector management


Taylor, Christopher
217-244-2153
ctaylor@inhs.illinois.edu
Ichthyologist/Astacologist, Curator of Crustaceans

Thomas, Michael
300-2790
thomasmj@illinois.edu
Natural Sciences Laboratory Technician III

Tiemann, Jeremy
217-244-4594
jtiemann@illinois.edu
Associate Aquatic Ecologist
fishes, freshwater mussels, aquatic snails, endangered species, streams

Tipsword, Robert
217-244-7317
tipswor@illinois.edu
Facilities Manager

Tompkins, Joshua
217-728-4851
jtompkin@illinois.edu
Assistant Fisheries Ecologist

Turek, Anne
312-814-2751
aturek@illinois.edu
Associate Ecologist

Tweddale, Tari
217-265-0583
tweicher@illinois.edu
GIS Coordinator
GIS, Remote Sensing, Spatial database development, management, and analysis

Ulaszek, Eric
217-244-3957
eulaszek@illinois.edu
Botanist

VanMiddlesworth, Todd
309-543-6000
tdvanmid@illinois.edu
Emiquion Project Coordinator

Vinsel, Rachel
217-300-5726
rvinsel2@illinois.edu
Assistant Data Curator

Wahl, Dave
217-728-4400
d-wahl@illinois.edu
Aquatic/Fishery Biologist, Field Station Director

Ward, Michael
217-244-4089
mpward@illinois.edu

Avian Ecology

Wetzel, Mark
217-244-2108
mjwetzel@illinois.edu
Aquatic Oligochaetologist / Macroinvertebrate Zoologist
taxonomy/systematics - aquatic & terrestrial annelid worms, other aquatic groups

Whitten, Andrya
309-543-6000
awhitten@illinois.edu
Assistant Large River Fisheries Ecologist

Wiesbrook, Scott
217-265-0368
swiesbro@illinois.edu
Assistant Project Leader for Soils

Wilm, Brian
217-244-2176
wilm@illinois.edu
Assistant Project Leader for Botany

Wingard, Margaret
217-265-5644
mwingard@illinois.edu
Sponsored Research Coordinator

Wylie, Daniel
217-244-4494
dwylie@illinois.edu
Zoological Collections Manager

Yetter, Aaron
217-300-4038
ayetter@illinois.edu
Waterfowl Ecologist

Yoder, Matthew
217-244-9473
diapriid@gmail.com
Biological Informatician
Biodiversity Informatics, Ontologies, Hymenoptera, Diapriidae

Zahniser, James
(202) 633-4574
zahniser@illinois.edu
Affiliate
taxonomy, Cicadellidae, leafhopper

Zaya, David
217-244-1946
dzaya1@illinois.edu
Plant Ecologist

Zercher, Bradley
217-333-3870
zercher@illinois.edu
Wetland Field Biologist

Illinois Natural History Survey

1816 South Oak Street, MC 652
Champaign, IL 61820
217-333-6880
cms@inhs.illinois.edu

Terms of use. Email the Web Administrator with questions or comments.

© 2018 University of Illinois Board of Trustees. All rights reserved.
For permissions information, contact the Illinois Natural History Survey.

Staff Intranet
Login